The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater

The Raven Boys is the first book of The Raven Cycle-series by Maggie Stiefvater and it was my first book by her.

The Prologue starts with the sentence:

“Blue Sargent had forgotten how many times she‘d been told that she would kill her true love.“

I mean if this doesn‘t get you hooked I don‘t know what will. I was thinking that the book will mainly handle the love story, but no, there‘s so much more to it!



The main protagonists are Blue and “the Raven Boys“ Gansey, Adam, Noah, and Ronan.

They are each very individual and by no means do we get to see every part of their characters in book one.

Blue is the seventeen year old “weird“ kid, in the somewhat normal town Henrietta, because her mother and her aunts are psychics. Whereas she doesn‘t have any special abilities, except that she makes spirits and such “louder“ for her family members to hear when Blue is present.

I love her family. It‘s so funny when her aunts casually mention things that will happen soon as if the most normal thing in the world is to be able to see in the future.


The Raven Boys are going to the private Aglionby Academy and are best friends. Gansey is the leader of the group. He does everything to hold his friends together in time of need. Also, he is the one who is obsessed to find a dead welsh king named Glendower and takes his friends on board in the search. Adam is the only one of them that isn‘t rich. He lives in a trailer park with his family and needs to work multiple jobs to be able to go to Aglionby. Noah is rather shy and needs his alone time. Ronan is the daredevil who never misses a latin class in school, but skips out of all the other ones.


Of course, the paths between Blue and the Raven Boys cross and they meet. Blue‘s mother Maura warns her daughter to stay away from them, because they have something inexplicable and “strong“ to them. When do teenagers actually ever listen to their parents?



You‘re right, Blue starts to secretly meet up with them to help them with the search for the ley line and Glendower. She‘s a great asset to them and helpful because she comes from a psychic family and knows these things. The story unfolds from there. Supernatural aspects are involved and a mystical forest in which time doesn‘t work and takes you through all four seasons in a matter of hours.


Going into the book I basically knew nothing about the story, but people were loving it everywhere on the internet. I had to give it a try. So I did and I ended up loving it!

I especially loved the group dynamic between the Raven Boys! They‘re making for such an interesting combination. The whole book has a mystical and magical vibe to it. I know I‘m SO late starting the series and it‘s already years since it got published, but it‘s definitely bringing a breath of fresh air into the YA world with it‘s originality.

I can‘t wait to explore more of Henrietta with them in book two.


Star rating: 5/5

Favourite Character: Ronan

Favorite quote:

“The only thing was, she didn’t really want to see the future. What she wanted was to see something no one else could see or would see, and maybe that was asking for more magic that was in the world.”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.